The book I’ve been waiting for all my life

BookOk, so the title of this post isn’t entirely true. But hyperbole sells. And I really am excited for this book. They could have just sold me the cover and I would have gladly handed over my money.

If the name doesn’t ring a bell, Franklin Barbecue in Austin, Texas is the hottest barbecue joint in the country. Top accolades include being named the best barbecue in the U.S. by Bon Appetit and #1 BBQ joint in Texas by Texas Monthly (a more noteworthy honor). What’s even more amazing is that in just a few years Aaron Franklin has risen above other pitmasters who have been working at their craft for decades.

Franklin Barbecue: A Meat-Smoking Manifesto is Aaron Franklin’s barbecue guide for aspiring pitmasters, where he distills all of the knowledge he has accumulated over the years. I’ve been waiting for this book to come out for months. The first 5 minutes of me owning it was just spent admiring the cover and occasionally opening it up to inhale the new book smell.

My obsession started 5 months ago. At the end of October I went to New Orleans for a few days on vacation. The plan was to hang out through Halloween and then rent a car and road trip to Austin to visit an old high school friend, experiencing real Texas barbecue along the way. The main event would be Franklin Barbecue, the restaurant I had read so much about in my research.

My only regret is not getting  more.
My only regret is not getting more.

As is customary at Franklin, I paid my dues with an hours-long wait in line (3 to be exact). And I would without a doubt do it again. It was hands down the best brisket I have ever had. Exceedingly flavorful and perfectly rendered fat produces meat that melts in your mouth.

When I got home I started scouring the internet to learn everything I could about Aaron Franklin. What I quickly learned is how much hard work and attention to detail he puts into his craft, starting each day at 2 a.m. and even tinkering with his smokers on his days off. He kind of reminds me of a younger generation’s version of Jiro Ono from Jiro Dreams of Sushi.

Aaron’s skill and work ethic are just part of the reason I admire him so much. The main reason is how humble and amiable he is (watch his BBQwithFranklin YouTube series to get a better idea of his personality). He’s down-to-earth, modest, and always willing to share his hard-earned knowledge, e.g. the book.

I live in an apartment building so I won’t be able to try out the barbecuing tips with a smoker anytime soon. But my interest in the book isn’t really even about the recipes. It’s about learning the story of a man who is dedicated to his craft everyday and has a smile on his face as he does it.

Leave a comment